Category Archives: Music News

A month ago, we shared a very strange audio snippet courtesy of Simian Mobile Disco, which was released as a teaser to their forthcoming record, Unpatterns. We now present to you the first official track to fall out of the soon-to-be available LP, titled ‘Seraphim’: ▶ Mobile phone users Unpatterns drops on May 14.

The large waist-lined diva otherwise known as Beth Ditto, has returned with a new Gossip track. It’s the first single to come from A Joyful Noise, the indie-pop trio’s upcoming LP which started out as a production collaboration with Mark Ronson and then finished with Brian Higgins. Check out ‘Perfect World’ below. Given the fact that some of […]

BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac premiered a fresh Miike Snow track called ‘Bavarian #1 (Say You Will).’ It’s yet another component to the much anticipated forthcoming LP, Happy To You. Below is the brief chat between Annie Mac and the Swedish trio, followed by the new tune:  ▶ Mobile phone users You don’t have long to wait – Happy To […]

Posted on by: acid stag

Today, we have a brand-spanking new single from masked, post-dubstep producer SBTRKT. The below track was uploaded to his SoundCloud page with only the following information attached: “was a bonus album track.” Take a listen to ‘Surely’: ▶ Mobile phone users Judging by the above artwork, the single will be out via Young Turks soonish.

Dream-boat Jake Gyllenhaal appears in the new music video by French dance-pop duo, The Shoes. ‘Time To Dance’ is their latest single and in the below vid, Gyllenhaal plays a disturbed killing machine that chases his prey up fire escapes, into back alleys, and through strip clubs before he violently slays them. It’s hard to not become aroused. [yframe […]

Indie dream-pop duo Beach House have released the details for Bloom, their fourth studio album. The new LP was recorded in Texas, mixed in NYC and was co-produced by Beach House and Chris Coady. Coady’s well known for his work with Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV on the Radio, !!! (Chk Chk Chk), Grizzly Bear and Blonde Redhead. Take […]

Sydney electro-lads BON CHAT, BON RAT have dropped their first piece of new material. The track is titled ‘Dust Proud’ and it features Orange County local Pepepiano.  It’s definitely worth checking out: [wp_bandcamp_player type=”track” id=”2779767505″ size=”venti” bg_color=”#FFFFFF” link_color=”#000000″] The single is available for free on the download link above.

On Friday, March 30 we’ll be unleashing our own brand of quarterly music events at Sydney’s newest watering hole, The Village. In association with Ketel One Vodka, the inaugural event will see Australian disco-beat masters taking the stage to throw down infectious grooves. The free launch party boasts appearances from: RÜFÜS  (DJ set) Frames Lancelot Back […]

The ever-so dreamy Sufjan Stevens has teamed up with New York composer/producer Son Lux and Chicago-born rapper Serengeti to produce a collaborative EP under the name s / s / s. Beak & Claw is the EPs running title and ‘Museum Day’ is its first single. Beak & Claw hits the stores on March 20 via […]

Exciting news! We have another new track and video from The Shins’ highly anticipated fourth studio LP, Port of Morrow. The song is called ‘Bait & Switch’

Posted on by: acid stag

Sister Crayon
Bon Iver
The Shins
School Of Seven Bells
Santigold + more

Rocket Juice & The Moon is the supergroup composed of Damon Albarn (Blur, Gorillaz) and Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, and drummer Tony Allen. A self-titled full-length record will be unleashed on us next month featuring the track ‘Hey Shooter’. Neo-soul queen Erykah Badu lends her vocal talents to the awesome ensemble. ▶ Mobile phone […]

Our favourite indie-dance outfit RÜFÜS return with the new track ‘This Summer,’ from their soon-to-be released sophomore EP. Ready yourself for infectious, electro-infused beats accompanied by haunting vocals: – To celebrate the release, the boys will be hitting the road for a nationwide tour. Details below: Friday April 13 – PHOENIX PUBLIC HOUSE, MELBOURNE VIC […]

Did you notice the hidden track on M83‘s brilliant work of art, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming? For the less perceptive, there was a hidden six-minute tribal jam called ‘Mirror.’ It’ll be seeing its very own 7” vinyl release on April 21 for Record Store Day. Only 2,000 copies will be made available so you’ll need to get in super […]

Vivid LIVE, Sydney’s annual light, music and ideas festival, revealed today via Triple J a couple of the musical heavyweights that will be appearing on the line-up. So far, we can expect to see unique performances from the ever so talented Sufjan Stevens and The National‘s Bryce Dessner. 2012’s guest curator is Fergus Linehan, head of contemporary music at Sydney […]